Summer Slump

June 25, 2008

If anyone is looking I’m sure you’ve noticed that summer posting has gotten light.  I am preparing for graduate school (in public health) in the fall and I’ve been enjoying what will most likely be my last summer at home with the kids.  Next summer I hope to be doing my practicum and after that working full time.

I would like to share some links to resources that I have been enjoying related to public health.  Posting will continue sporadically through summer and will pick back up to full speed (1 post per week) in the fall with school.

Effect Measure is a science blog that serves as a “forum for progressive public health
discussion and argument as well as a source for public health information from around the web…”.

The Wall Street Journal has a health blog that encourages interactive communication through the comments.

Another interesting blog is Dr. Razavi’s Good to Know Info.  A physician offers practical and reliable responses to FAQ’s from Googlers.

A resource for real public health geeks is the CDC’s MMWR – Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report now online.

CNN just published an article about West Nile Virus.  It is expected to be a bad summer for the disease peaking between mid-July and mid-September.  Controlling mosquitos is your best protection.  Use mosquito sprays with DEET.

Stay cool and healthy!

Katy

One Response to “Summer Slump”

  1. Ren Says:

    Hey, good luck with Public Health School. I graduated last year, and I can tell you that’s it’s not easy… But it is very enjoyable.
    A group of us epidemiologists (all young and new to the field) started up The Epi Times, so check it out and let us know what you think… Also, let me know if you’d like to become a contributor. I’d be honored to have your perspective.
    Finally, I’m in Atlanta for a two-day conference on flu surveillance, and I’m going to the Braves game tomorrow. I really like your town.


Leave a Reply

